Diabetes Blog Week Friday: More Than Diabetes

Today’s prompt is:
Lets wrap up the week by sharing a little more about ourselves, beyond the chronic illness we or our loved ones live with.  Share an interest, hobby, passion, something that is YOU.  If you want to explore how it relates to or helps with diabetes you can.   Or let it be a part of you that is completely separate from diabetes, because there is more to life than just diabetes!  

I love this topic! Screw diabetes. Instead, let’s talk about unrelated fun stuff and post gratuitous photos. Without further ado, here are some random facts about me and my T1d and gluten-free crew.

I’m a runner. I’m a very slow runner but I don’t care. I started running in 2009 and to my own amazement it became my hobby and my passion. I don’t know how I used to cope with life before I started running. So far I’ve completed 4 full marathons and 13 half marathons. I have no idea what my next race will be or when, but I’m sure it will happen sooner than later.

 

I love the ocean. I love being near, around, or in the ocean. I does not get old. When I was growing up, it was my dream to live by the ocean and now I’m living my dream. It’s also one of the reasons I love cruising. My favorite thing to do is sit on the balcony as we are sailing on the open ocean. It’s the best thing ever.

 

These two faces! We have the best doggies ever and we love them fiercely.

 

I love Start Trek TNG. Yes, Trekkie all the way. Shockingly, I don’t care about or watched Star Wars. I am probably the only person on Earth, I know. Don’t hate me, OK?

bSc4CQr

Love this quote!

 

Last but not least, I’ll leave you with our recent family picture. Taken on a cruise, of course 🙂

IMG_4488.JPG

 

This concludes 2017 Diabetes Blog Week. I have lots of catching up to do and can’t wait to read more posts over the weekend.

6 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week Friday: More Than Diabetes

  1. This is lovely! So great to get to know you better! I so admire your running! What an achievement! I’d better go, I’ve used up my daily quota of exclamation marks. Much love to you x

    Like

Leave a Reply

