ROI = Awesome

Riding on Insulin unveiled their snowboard/ski camp schedule for 2016/2017 and it broke my heart a little. There is no longer a camp within an easy driving distance from us. The closest camp is a monster of an 8-plus hour drive, and that’s in ideal conditions. I don’t know what we will do. On one hand, of course we really want to go. On the other hand, we can’t justify two days of solid driving for one day of camp. And travel expenses plus lodging won’t be cheap either. But we really want to go! But we most likely won’t.

I was discussing this dilemma with my running friend during a recent long run. Oh yes, by the way, I signed up for my third half marathon. I’ll be running Revel Canyon City half on November 12th! So I am minding my miles and getting ready for it. And there is no better opportunity to talk through my dilemmas than on a long run with a good friend. I don’t always find solutions but more often than not I find clarity.

So as I was weighing the pros and cons of going, I had an epiphany of sorts. Why do I want V to go to ROI camp so badly? Surely we can find cheaper skiing lessons nearby. She’s good at managing diabetes and we can stay close by if she needs support. We can do it in a way that is fun and safe. But ROI is so much more than snowboarding/skiing lessons in a safe environment. To me it is all about the people. ROI volunteers are the people I want V to look up to. Not just because many of them are amazing athletes with Type 1 Diabetes. What I love most about ROI peeps is their passion for life, their determination and ability to live life to the fullest, their perseverance in the face of challenges, their desire to push themselves, and their infectious enthusiasm. That is a lot to love and that is the primary passion driving my own ROI fundraising.

Yesterday, 40 ROI volunteers competed in Ironman Wisconsin. 20 of them have Type 1 Diabetes; rest are family and friends. They raced their hearts out and I am so proud of them! They also fundraised their hearts out to grow the program and make camps more affordable and numerous.

14238285_10153917052433030_1052663657950197217_n.jpg

Thank you ROI volunteers for everything you do. Even though we may not be able to make it to camp this season, you are still giving all of us an example of how to live with T1D.

It is with renewed commitment that I carry on with my training and fundraising as a ROI Global Athlete. Please support my efforts by making a donation to RIO.

Leave a Reply

