In Diabetes Hacks We Trust

This was supposed to be another uneventful dinner at our local eatery, just me and my girl. As we sat down, V told me she felt low. Two things are noteworthy: 1) she’s just getting over a cold and her numbers have been crazy high past couple of days, but trending much better today, which actually made her BG more unpredictable, and 2) her Dexcom has been acting out and showing ??? or out of range most of the day.

She tested and her BG was 56. OK, no biggie, we are at a restaurant anyway. She asked for regular soda but I told her no, she would only be able to have a few sips anyway. We settled on one glucose tab to bring BG up just enough to be able to bolus for dinner, and she ordered a diet soda. Miraculously, at the same time Dexcom came back to life and started alarming us of the low. Yeah, thanks buddy, tell me something I don’t know, I told it. But I should not have been so short with it because of what happened next.

V guzzled down her soda, we ordered the food and she re-tested. 96 – BINGO. She pre-bolused for the food and got a soda refill while we waited for food to come out. About ten minutes later I noticed that Dexcom was showing BG of 110 and going up. How could BG have gone up that much already and still going up? One glucose tab was not enough to do this. If anything, since she gave herself some insulin but had not consumed any carbs, I’d expect her to be trending down. And then a suspicion hit me: did they refill her glass with REGULAR soda? Soda full of sugar? Because it would explain everything.

V drank just a bit of her refill, thankfully. She asked me to taste it. I can’t tell a difference between regular and diet! But then in a flash I remember reading about a diabetes hack that involved testing sugar in soda with a glucose meter. Instead of blood you put a drop of soda on the test strip. Regular soda will yield a high number. Diet soda will yield a LO reading or a meter error.

I whipped out V’s meter, fired it up and put the strip in a drop of soda. Aaaaaannnnd….Drumroll….

IMG_3432.jpg

OMG. She was drinking regular soda indeed. If we did not notice an upward trend and test the soda, this would have been V’s BG in an hour or so, and it would have been a monster to deal with.

I gave her a generous dose of extra insulin and we asked for a different glass of diet soda, complete with a clean straw. You bet I tested it when it came out. Meter error message confirmed it was diet. Whew. We carried on with dinner, keeping an eye on BG trends all the while. Afterwards we went for a nice long walk with the dogs. BG maxed out at 250. We can live with that!

Whoever came up with this hack, I can’t thank you enough.

 

4 responses to “In Diabetes Hacks We Trust

Leave a Reply

