I get by with a little help from my friends

And just like that, 2015 is over. I was going to write a long post looking at some of my favorite/most popular/funniest posts of the year but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I have neither time nor desire to do so. Instead, I am going to write about something that makes me really happy today. We are assembling at our house with a small group of friends to ring in the New Year. We’ve been doing it for several years now and made it into a solid tradition. We started getting together when the kids were younger and there was no way anyone could stay up until midnight, so we decided to watch the NYC ball drop  (9 PM our time) and call it a day. Because if it’s good enough for New York, it’s good enough for us!

NYE celebration goes on despite crud and other setbacks. Whoever is healthy hosts and shows up, everyone brings some food, and we have an instant party. We’ve been besieged by crud past few years so not all of us could make it. Today we are all relatively healthy and I’m overjoyed about getting together to ring in the New Year. (Though we are missing one family who moved overseas and can’t join us now.) These are my friends who stood by us when V got diagnosed. They visited us in the hospital and helped us with errand, childcare, and good old moral support. They started making gluten-free foods for our gatherings so that V could be fully included. At times, they even figured out carb counts for their amazing gluten-free creations!  They’ve been reading my blog, learning about diabetes and celiac, and have been brave enough to sometimes watch V for us and supervise her diabetes care. We are grateful to have wonderful friends.

Dealing with diabetes and celiac is no picnic but we get by with a little help from our friends.

My tribe!

My tribe!

NYE feast. Everything but one type of crackers is gluten-free.

NYE feast. Everything but one type of crackers is gluten-free.

 

Leave a Reply

