Diabetes Awareness Month, Day 26

Today is Thanksgiving. Everyone is writing about what they are thankful for. I thought about it, but frankly I had already talked a lot about it. And don’t even get me started on what good things come from diabetes. Nothing good comes from diabetes. NOTHING. Yeah, you can adapt a healthier life style and blah blah blah, but I’d love to do it without diabetes thankyouverymuch.

That being said, I was pondering all this on my run this morning. This year I’m thankful for something we did not really have a year or two ago: little by little, we are getting our freedom back, despite diabetes. Now that we are 2.5 years into it, and are armed with experience, good support system, a pump, and a CGM, we can not only do more than before but relax into it. Last night V had a sleepover at a friend’s house. We were able to monitor her BG thanks to Dexcom Share and she had a perfect night and a great day. We barely had any contact with her, she managed diabetes on her own and did a wonderful job. V had sleepovers before but they were a lot more stressful and needed a lot more involvement from us. Same thing happened when V spent a couple of days and nights with her grandparents a couple of days ago. We stayed in frequent contact but things went much smoother than before, and it was a lot less stressful.

As I think about the past few months, more examples come to mind: V being able to have a run of the cruise ship without us…Getting away for a couple of days with my husband while V was in sleep-away camp…Letting V sleep in and rest home by herself when she had a cold and could not go to school, while I drove her brother to school in the morning…Being able to leave V home alone for a couple of hours and not drag her around with me when I had to run errands… Being able to let V stay home while I go for a run…

As I ran this morning, I remarked how wonderful it felt to enjoy our freedom. This is a win-win. Yes, it’s tremendously helpful to us, parents. But V is getting older and is at the age of wanting to be more and more independent, doing more things with friends and without parental supervision. I am grateful that we can make it happen and allow her to do all these normal things kids her age do. And I am grateful that we can breathe a little easier while letting her spread her wings.

d9244d6751e2f1f51b199f6d538e400d

Leave a Reply

