Diabetes Blog Week Bonus Entry: Bring on The Crazy

I did not need to use the wildcard for diabetes blog week but it’s too good to pass up:

Diabetes can sure bring some crazy moments.  So tell us your Top 3 craziest D related stories!  If you can’t think of three, don’t worry.  We’re just as happy with one or two . . . .   

Crazy? I got crazy. This is a story of something that happened about a year ago and I briefly shared it on our Facebook page then, but I think it’s good enough that it deserves its proper blog post.

I am jarred awake in the middle of the night by the loud sound of Dexcom high alarm. It takes me a few seconds to orient to where I am and what is happening. I open my eyes and process for a minute. We are at home, I am in my bed. Everything is dark, quiet and peaceful, except for that high alarm that went off a couple of minutes ago. Did it actually happen? Was I perhaps dreaming? I mull it over some more, the prospect of getting out of bed and going to V’s room to check on her highly uninviting. I am warm and cozy in my bed and I’d really like to get back to sleep. But I cannot ignore the alarm. I heard it loud and clear. It punctured my dreams in a way that was not even remotely related to what I was dreaming about. It had to have been real.

Resigned to disturbing my sleep completely, I stumble out of bed. As I am heading out the door my husband stirs. “I checked her about 20 minutes ago, she was 200 and I bolused her” he says and rolls over to go back to sleep. My heart starts skipping a beat. The high alarm is set to go off at 300. If she were 200 just a short time ago, received a bolus, and climbed to over 300, it surely means pump failure. This is serious. This is something that I need to check RIGHT AWAY. I speed down the hallway, imagining what a pain it would be to have to change her pod now and get her stabilized. And I would have to get V up to pee on a stick to check for ketones. Seriously, who needs this at 2 AM?! Stupid, stupid diabetes!

I stumble into V’s room and fumble with the light switch. I grab Dexcom and look at the graph. 189. I shake my head and look again. 189. I look at the PDM and confirm that indeed my husband bolused V a little while ago and she was around 200 at that time. I do not understand. I heard Dexcom alarm, but it could not have alarmed if BG were under 300. Was I mistaken about the settings? Perhaps it’s set to alarm at 200 or 180? I take a good look again but sure enough the high alarm is still set for 300. This can only mean one thing: in the middle of the night, apropos of nothing, I dreamt the sound of Dexom high alarm. It was clear, it was convincing, and it actually woke me up. Except it never happened.

I shuffle back to he bedroom, felling relieved that there is no crisis to deal with, annoyed that now my sleep is shot, and highly amused about the whole thing.

And that is the story of how I reached the advanced level of D-parent crazy.

d9244d6751e2f1f51b199f6d538e400df3cac476ebae56de508fd89866e1ea8c

One response to “Diabetes Blog Week Bonus Entry: Bring on The Crazy

  1. Happens to me all the time. Except she is close enough to our room that I keep the Dexcom on my bedside table. More often though I am woken up to the sound of her screaming “mom!”, only to find that she is fast asleep and it never happened. I think it’s a special d-parent kind of delirious hallucination. It’s totally saved our butts in a few instances and we are not alone in being the only two moms on the planet who share this crazy kind of diabetes esp.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

