Diabetes Week Saturday: Favorites and Motivations

If you have been blogging for a while, what is your favorite sentence or blogpost that you have ever written?  Is it diabetes related or just life related?  If you are a new blogger and don’t have a favorite yet, tell us what motivated you to start sharing your story by writing a blog?

A post that encourages shameless self-promotion? Don’t mind if I do!

Sorry, you are going to have to put up with me as I link you to several favorite posts, as I cannot narrow it down to one. They are favorites for different reasons.

The 10 Commandments post was probably the most fun to write. I sifted through many diabetes memes and laughed every step of the way.

The post about V’s first B-day party sleepover at her friend’s house stands out because it was a big milestone for us. We all survived and managed well, even though it was not always smooth sailing.

This post of 10 things we want others to know and understand about our life became a best-seller. I hope it helped others become more aware of what T1D and Celiac life does and does not entail. (This post also shows that I am unable to do basic counting and it took me a while to notice my epic fail.)

Then in February of this year I blogged for a week about my Awareness Project of living my life in my daughter’s T1D and gluten-free shoes. It was a quite a memorable and eye-opening experience. You can find day by day accounts in my blog by clicking on the Awareness Project tag, and you will find a summary of my experience in this guest post for Diabetes Mine. 

Last but not least, I will leave you with one of my all-time favorite quotes by a brilliant character from my favorite TV show. It applies to life in general, and certainly to life with diabetes.

bSc4CQr

For bonus points, without Googling it, can you tell me what episode it’s from? Mad respect if you can spit out episode title, but an accurate description of the episode will certainly count!

Leave a Reply

