Diabetes Blog Week Monday – I Can

Today is the start of the Diabetes Blog Week. I will be posting about a different diabetes-related topic for 7 days in a row. Click here to see the topics and here to see all participating bloggers. Check us out!

Today’s topic is I Can: What have you or your loved one accomplished, despite having diabetes, that you weren’t sure you could?  Or what have you done that you’ve been particularly proud of?  Or what good thing has diabetes brought into your life? 

She can…

…play sports and play hard. BMX, swimming, gymnastics, running, mountain biking, and more – she’s doing it all and diabetes does not stop her.

10410105_841744355918580_3383012207480176740_n

…eat sugar. I know, I know…  I will say no more. Couldn’t help it.

…have a sleepover at a friend’s house without us. It takes some planning and teamwork but it’s getting easier as she is more independent and we have better technology.

…feel and act like a normal kid more often than not. Some of it is because after a while you get used to diabetes care, it becomes second nature and gets incorporated into the new normal routine. Some of it is because there is so much more to life than diabetes. It does not always take center stage and sometimes it’s not on the stage at all.

…give an expert lecture on physiology of broken pancreas and speak in code that only other D-peeps will understand. Last year she did a presentation on diabetes for her class together with the school nurse, in Spanish.

1960066_10152369514490579_1710830172_n

…give shots like the boss. Change the pod and Dexcom sensor like the boss. Count carbs like the boss. She is a diabadass.

1011581_10152290077200579_672324259_n

…be herself. Diabetes makes her a diabadass but does not change who she is.

I can…

…blog like the boss. Because when life gives you lemons, you don’t make lemonade. There’s way too much sugar in lemonade. You start a blog instead! What a perfect way to channel pent-up sarcasm and connect with other diabadasses in the diabetes online community.

…occasionally sleep through Dexcom alarms. Normally I am hyper-aware of Dexcom but once in a while exhaustion takes over and I hear nothing. How’s that a good thing? Simple – it gets me an uninterrupted night of sleep. (Don’t worry, hubby takes care of V while I am blissfully snoring through it all.)

…use sophisticated medical vocabulary. Postprandial, ketoacidosis and lypohypertrophy easily roll off my tongue. OK, maybe not lypohypertrophy. I’m still practicing pronouncing that one. However, I know what it means and I am getting better at spelling it, so it counts, right?

…keep up with diabetes science and technology. In fact, I find it fascinating and cannot get enough of it. I want to learn anything and everything that comes my way.

We can…

…be a diabadass family. We stick together and kick T1D’s butt together.

…eat well and live well. V’s diagnosis strengthened our commitment to balanced eating and healthy, active lifestyle.

…laugh at it all. Because if you can’t laugh at it, what good is it?

8 responses to “Diabetes Blog Week Monday – I Can

  1. I’m impressed that your daughter can give shots and change sites for her devices independently! Wow! And she gave a class presentation last year? That’s awesome. She has spunk!

    My son is moving toward independence in a measured way at his own pace (which is much slower!). “I can” definitely comes in all sizes!

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah, she picked it up quickly. But each child is different, so there is no one size fits all. I’m happy that she feels confident and open about her diabetes and does not mind sharing what she knows with others.

      Like

    • She is in a Spanish immersion program. Still, I thought it was really impressive. After presentation she answered questions from the class, also in Spanish.

      Like

Leave a Reply

