Awareness Project: Getting Ready

I had a lot to get done to be ready for tomorrow’s launch of my Awareness Project. Since we rush in the morning to get out the door, I had to prep this weekend.  Actually, truth be told, I’d been thinking about this for a while, making plans in my head and figuring out what I would need to get and do to pull it off. First, I bought extra gluten-free foods so that there was enough for both of us for the week. I had to think about what I normally pack for lunch and what changes I’d have to make. That was not very difficult because when I make lunches at home, they are usually gluten-free anyway.  I either pack leftovers from meals or put together some cold cuts, veggies, dip and crackers. The next task was a bit more challenging. I took out all the supplies and diabetes paraphernalia out of V’s diabetes kit so that I could take an inventory and figure out what I needed to pack in my purse. It would come as no surprise that I gathered a lot of stuff to pack:

ALL the supplies! Insulin, glucagon, meter, strips, wipes, back-up pods, syringes, fast-acting sugars, oh my...

ALL the supplies! Insulin, glucagon, meter, strips, wipes, back-up pods, syringes, fast-acting sugars, oh my…

And then I looked at my purse and realized that I had a problem.

There is no way all this stuff would fit in here!

There is no way all this stuff would fit in here!

And I felt like this:

hed0m

Do you remember that Taco Bell commercial from the 90’s?

So I had to go out and buy a new, bigger purse!

IMG_0977

Once I stuffed all the diabetes stuff in the purse, I transferred my planner, wallet and a million little miscellaneous things from my old purse. I do not like that. I like my old purse thankyouverymuch. It feels all new and unfamiliar. But let this be the worst of my problems.

Then I decided to test out the lancing device, since I did not want to fumble with it when we are in a hurry in the morning. I set it to the lowest setting and hesitated for several minutes. “I want my mommy!”I whined and complained to my husband. He laughed and I finally poked myself. It was not bad and I drew a lot of blood. I had to apply pressure to stop the bleeding. What is up with that? Are there veins in the finger tips?

My next task was to put together my food for the day. This process involved an additional pain of measuring and weighing and counting and writing everything down. It took a little longer than usual, as expected. Just as I was thankful our diet was reasonable before V got diagnosed, I was thankful today that my diet was reasonable before this project. I did not have to make changes per se, I just needed to count everything exactly. On the menu for tomorrow are cold cuts, cheese, veggies, humus, crackers, chips, rice with chicken, a Kind Bar, and an apple. I don’t think I will starve…

This is lunch, snacks and dinner. Tomorrow I leave the house at 8 AM and won't get back until about 7:30 PM.

This is lunch, snacks and dinner. Tomorrow I leave the house at 8 AM and won’t get back until about 7:30 PM.

Last but not least, it was time to insert the CGM. The last thing I want to do tomorrow is fumble with it in a hurry. V did the honors and was practically giddy that she got to “hurt” me and make me suffer. We had a discussion about where to put the sensor. She wanted me to put it on my stomach but I felt it would be better if it were visible, so we agreed on the arm. It was good practice for V to insert the sensor and I felt surprisingly calm about it, except for a few seconds preceding the insertion. She did a great job because I felt the slightest pinch and that was that. And now I am armed and ready. Tomorrow I will stick on the demo Pod and V and I will become “twinsies”.

IMG_0981

One response to “Awareness Project: Getting Ready

  1. Bravo! You’re off and running. That is great that your daughter got to poke you! 🙂 It reminds me of when we were about to eat dinner when my son was 6 (a year or so into diagnosis). Our youngest (age 4) said that it wasn’t fair that N had to be poked before every meal so he went around the table and lanced everyone’s finger before eating — with a new lancet each time. Our oldest (age 8 or 9) passed up on this task. Then our youngest poked himself!

    It’s such a meaningful exercise — walking in your daughter’s shoes! This is something she won’t forget. I asked my son who is now 14 what he thought of this — a mom going through this regimen for a week — and in typical teen form, he shrugged. 😉 Best wishes to you this week. I look forward to hearing more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

